June 14, 2009

  • Oh wow, I have been one busy little bee since my last post.  There’s so much to cover.  The kids are out of school.  Lexie won her Reading Counts award at school.  She had a total of 305 points.  That is great for a first grader.  The kid who won the award for the 4th grade had 160 some points, so that should give you an idea of how well she did for a FIRST grader!  I was so proud of her.  I teased Kaleb because Lexie had a lot more points than he did.  He still won an award for getting over 100 points (he had about 160 or so….)  Anyway, we went to both of their awards’ assemblies on the last day of school.  Lexie won the reading award for her class, as well as the Reading Counts trophy for her grade.  She also won the art award.  I was surprised at that.  Who knew she had artistic abilities? lol  Not me.  Kaleb actually won more awards than Lexie did.  He got an award for having 4.0 all year.  He also won a sportsmanship award in PE, a music award, the Reading Counts medal for over 100 points, and one other award….maybe it was the math award…I can’t remember now.  Here are a few photos from their assemblies:

    049

    Lexie with her trophy:

    030

    Roxie had to have her picture taken with Lexie’s trophy too:

    040

    Lexie in her classroom with all her classmates:

    033

    And the girls in the class:

    038

    Then after the assemblies, I gave them their gifts.  I had promised Lexie I’d get her an American Girl doll that she wanted if she won.  So I kept my promise.  I had told Kaleb I’d get him something if he won too, but since he didn’t I got him a gag gift. lol  I went to the dollar store and got some cheap little thing and wrapped it up.  Here are both kids with their “gifts” lol:

    051

    054

    My mom surprised her and got her an American Girl doll, too.  So she ended up with two.  She was so excited:

    060

    Jamie said that was mean of me to do Kaleb that way, since he had done exceptional in school this year too.  But I like to tease him, so it was all in good fun.  Don’t worry, Pappaw and Mamaw made up for me torturing him.  They bought him something themselves….I think it was a game for his DS.

    Also, Shannon has moved now.  We went together and had pedicures and lunch at Red Lobster one day before she left.  Here’s Shannon finishing up with her pedicure:

    015

    Her fancy toes:

    014

    We had pizza and singing at Bob and Donna’s the night before they left.  Everyone brought a little going away gift for Emma and Joseph:

    005

    002

     018

    Some people played pool:

    010

    Here’s me and Shannon on our last Wednesday night out together:

    017

    And here we are on Sunday night at the Hayes’:

    011

    And us with my sis-in-law, Lisa:

    012

    We also made a quick trip to Indiana for Lucas’ dad’s memorial service.  We got to see Jess and Dustin and the kids while we were there.  Here are some pics at the mexican restaurant in Bedford.  First, Cambree, with her mexican food face:

    090

    Jess and Dustin:

    102

    Kaleb and Josiah:

    096

    117

    108

    Lexie with her dolls at the hotel:
    086

    079

    And just this past week I found out I’m having a baby GIRL!  Jamie was disappointed.  And Kaleb was REALLY disappointed.  He told my dad, “Papaw, I’m moving in!” lol  Now the name argument has begun.  I have a name that I am set on, and I’m trying to talk Jamie into it.  I think he’s slowly starting to accept it.  haha  As soon as I get him to agree, I’ll tell everyone what it is.  I really like it.  It’s really pretty, and I have never heard it before, and that’s what I like about it.  I am tired of common names, so I want something different.

    I did a big cake for an 80s themed birthday cake for Mary’s daughter, Michaela.  She turned 16 and had an 80s themed party.  Here are some photos of it.  (I had to take pics from every angle, because it was different all the way around.):

    029

    107

    039

    This week, we are going to Lexington to see Celtic Woman.  It’s a group of women from Ireland and England that sing Celtic songs.  Jamie and the kids LOVE them.  Roxie calls it “girls songs”….We have a DVD of them that my mom brought us when she saw them a few years ago, and Roxie is always asking if she can watch “Girls Songs.” lol  So they are all excited to go see them in person.

    Kaleb’s baseball season is almost over….but after that he will probably have All-Stars.  If he makes the all star team, we will have to take our vacation between the end of the regular season and the beginning of all-stars.  There’s about 2 weeks between them.  I think we have decided to go to Carlsbad Caverns and the Grand Canyon.  That’s what Jamie wants to do.  He is all for big road trips. lol  We like to take our time traveling, and stop along the way if we see something fun to do.  So that should be an interesting trip.  It’s like a 24 hour drive from here to the Grand Canyon, and Jamie has come up with several little side stops he’d like to make, so that will add to our travel time, I’m sure.  Pray for me. lol

    We took the kids to see Up on Friday evening.  They really liked it.  Jamie embarrassed me to death (as usual) with his uncontrollable laughing.  When will I learn NOT to go to the movies with him???  After the movie, I was craving chocolate-dipped fruit, so we stopped at Edible Arrangements and bought some.  The kids got more of it than I did:

    017

    012

    014

    There are now three of us at church who are pregnant.  (If you are having feritility issues, come drink from our water fountain.  I think it works.)  We compared belly sizes this morning:

    014

    I think Amanda is currently in the lead, but I am not far behind.  Brittany just found out that she’s pregnant, so she’s still normal size.  I told her to stick her gut out so we wouldn’t look so bad, but I don’t think she did it.

    015

    Notice the little “Gloria” hippo Amanda is holding.  Some mean person got her that as a joke.  I won’t say who. lol

    Jamie found a big ol’ moth outside yesterday when he was mowing.  The kids were amazed with it, even though it was dead. lol  Here’s Roxie’s hand next to it so you can see how big it was:

    010

    Then Kaleb brought out one of his little men to fight it. lol:

    013

    I plan on trying to have a yard sale this weekend, if I can get all my stuff ready.  If not, then maybe I’ll do it the next weekend.  Now that I know I’m having a girl, I’m getting rid of all the boy stuff.  My house is full of junk I don’t need, and I am ready to clean it out!!!

Comments (10)

  • Carlsbad Caverns is cool.  Not far outside of El Paso, so we’ve been several times.  The congregation in El Paso is super small now and just meets in a home – and it would be incredibly awesome if you guys might happen to stop by there on a Sunday.  I know it would encourage them greatly.  Not many people get out that way and it’s only 2 families meeting there now I think.  Anyway I hope your vacation is fun.

    I like the 80′s cake, especially the pacman part!

  • @julamula - We will definitely be gone over a Sunday, but I don’t know for sure yet which state we’ll be in on Sunday.  I’ll have to check with Jamie about that.  I’ll tell him about El Paso, though.  It looks like your trip was fun!!!

  • LOVE the 80′s cake! :)   Have fun on your vacation.. that sounds like one long road trip!

  • Wow…so much to say!

    Congrats to your smart kids! I really wanted to see what Kaleb’s gag gift was, and his face when he opened it. lol

    As for Emma and Joseph getting presents for moving, I bet they wished they moved more often! ;o)

    Have fun with the Celtic Women. That makes me giggle. haha

    Soooo, if you’re driving to the Grand Canyon, you could possibly go a route that takes you through OK, right? I know of a wonderful tourist attraction in Edmond, and it’s free! ;o)

    You bought Amanda a hippo??? Boy, you ARE mean!

    That moth is awesome! We get some giant ones on our porch every once in a while, but they’re never colorful like that one. You should pin it to a board and display it.

  • @crimsonlocks - 

    Did I say I bought the hippo for Amanda???  No, I said some mean person did.  And you automatically assume that it was me?  lol  Okay, it was me. lol

    Have you seen Madagascar 2?  Well, Amanda herself said that she feels like Gloria.  “I like ‘em big, I like ‘em chunky, I like ‘em big, I like ‘em plumpy….”  LOL

    Jamie says we won’t be entering the state of OK.  He says we’ll be going through TX. 

  • Nope, haven’t seen either Madagascar movie, but I knew who the hippo was. And I know you’re mean! lol

    TX??? What kinda route is that? There’s nothing in TX worth seeing. ;oP

  • @crimsonlocks - 

    Yeah, I know there’s nothing in TX worth seeing.  lol  It was Jamie’s big idea.  It’s a shorter route or something.

    You should watch the Madagascar movies, especially the second one.  My kids love it.  Kaleb can quote every single line of the second movie.  And the girls can quote a lot of it.  You should see Roxie copying some of the stuff they do in the movie.  It’s hilarious.

  • Love the cake….and the preggo pic is so cute!

  • You better watch that TEXAS comment! 

  • @SecondGradeT - 

    Well you’re in Texas, so it can’t be ALL bad, right??? lol

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories