February 25, 2009

  • Well I finished the baby shower cake that I mentioned in my last post.  It was a lot of fun (and work) but I think it turned out pretty cute.  And I think it’s my favorite.  At least until I make the next cake.  I decided to make a diaper bag, with a few baby accessories.  Here it is:

    164

    And yes, it’s all edible.  I made the booties, keys, bottle and pacifier 4 or 5 days in advance so they could set up and dry.  Then I spent Thursday decorating the diaper bag.  Here’s a view from the other side:

    173

    Close-up of the diapers in the pocket:

    144

    And the bottle (It was white chocolate…should be pretty tasty):

    146

    I was going to put a pocket on the back of the bag too, but I was too tired after all that:

    151

    It takes forever to get a cake like this ready to decorate.  It took me longer to bake, stack, torte, fill, carve, dowel, support, and crumbcoat the cake and prepare the board than it did to actually decorate the cake.  Here’s what it looked like somewhere in the middle of that process:

    001

    Yeah, it is a MESSY job!

    002

    You can’t see it, but there is a board and 6 dowels inside that cake, going all the way through the cake board.  I was scared to death it would fall over, so I put PLENTY of support.  (Remember the incident with the Dr. Pepper cake?  Yeah, I didn’t want that to happen again. lol)  When I dropped it off, I told Tarabeth and Holly, “Good luck cutting this one.” haha

    Yep, I liked it.  I like when I get to try something different.  There were actually 2 different cakes I wanted to try, and I chose this one.  Hopefully, I’ll have the opportunity to try the other one sometime in the future.

    Roxie, my little helper…..she asks me the whole time I’m doing the cake, “Mommy, can I have some cake?”…..Uh, no.

    003

    And finally, here’s a picture of some candy I’ve been enjoying the past few days.  YUM!!!

    001

     

Comments (17)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories